PHILOSOPHY OF TIME

Often, in this world in which pragmatism and materialism hold sway, human minds meet without even touching, as if the other one's path didn't even exist. They move about according to the lines of a script that has neither horizon, nor celestial vault.

 

In the vastness of the Universe, however, time is the infinite movement, the vital rhythm, transcendent intelligence and immortal beat.

 

Human beings are not the masters of time. The world they have set up runs at a rate that is dissonant in relation to the actual astral rhythm it is subject to as a natural substance. The hour, the minute and the second are mere social conventions. They serve to control our availability as human beings, they let us evaluate our freedom, they are synonymous with the price we have to pay. They are a unit of defined and finite values, a slice of life to be consumed on a backdrop of complex terrestrial exchanges.

 

The heavenly bodies, on the other hand, move in perpetual circles and infinite ellipses that embody the essence of nature, its vast amplitude, its perfection and its profound mystery. They move up close and then away again, find an equilibrium in a kind of permanent revolution around their axes and in their own orbit. They show themselves in all their myriad aspects, light up and then darken again, are born and die. At times, they seek adventure on the foggy paths of the galactic prairies, without any goal, like spatial nomads.

FAMED ARCHITECT AND WATCHMAKER OF THE COSMOS

The architect's watch Astar, by Rino Brodbeck, a product of outstanding Swiss manufacturing, comes in a limited series. It speaks to both connoisseurs of horological excellence as well as people fascinated by architectural esthetics.

 

The model, introduced first in 2014, is in fact the result of a long conceptual process.

HISTORY OF A CREATIVE PROCESS

In the early 1950s, Rino Brodbeck was working at a firm of architects, when a friend asked him if he could design a wristwatch.

 

The budding architect started thinking about the passage of time, while imagining a watch governed by the cosmic universe and respecting all the rules that make sense in architecture.

 

Rino Brodbeck, the watchmaker of the cosmos, found inspiration in his philosophy of work, in rigor and in creating spaces where the soul feels at ease. This clear vision of his architectural opus also animates his horological passion.

 

Architecture, after all, consists in transforming a program, functionalities and countless guidelines into three coherent and practical dimensions, where space, matter and light are arranged to create the best conditions for humans to flourish in the spirit of time.

CREATOR, DESIGNER

Besides pursuing watchmaking, this apostle of minimalist lines and heavenly bodies creates tableaux. He is not a figurative painter, his works aim visibly to structure matter, lines, forms and colors. He also makes furniture.

IDENTIFYING VALUES

According to Rino Brodbeck, who seeks the essence and the quintessence, depth and coherence are the key terms of esthetics.

 

And so the Astar number 11, the watch made by Rino Brodbeck, has found a place in the inventory of Geneva's Museum of Watchmaking, the Musée d'Horlogerie de Genève.

© 2014, Astar – Tel. +41 22 533 08 55 / e-mail: contact@astarwatch.ch

PHILOSOPHIE DU TEMPS

Sur terre, dans un monde basé sur le pragmatisme et la matérialité, les esprits humains se croisent donc sans même s’effleurer, comme si les chemins des autres n’existaient pas. Ils se déplacent sur le fil d’un scénario sans horizons ni voûte céleste.

 

L’homme n’est pas maître du temps. Le monde qu’il a édifié impose un tempo dissonant par rapport au rythme astral auquel il est soumis en tant que substance naturelle. L’heure, la minute, la seconde ne sont que des conventions sociales. Elles sont les calibrages de sa disponibilité, les estimations de sa liberté, les synonymes de ses prix à payer. Elles sont une entité de valeurs définies et finies, une parcelle de vie à consommer sur fond de complexité des échanges terriens.

 

Les corps célestes en revanche, se meuvent sur des cercles perpétuels et des ellipses infinies qui incarnent l’essence de la nature, son étonnante amplitude, sa perfection et son profond mystère. Ils s’approchent puis s’éloignent, se balancent dans une sorte de révolution permanente autour de leur axe et selon leur propre orbite. Ils se dévoilent sous tous leurs aspects, s’allument et s’éteignent, naissent et meurent. Parfois, ils partent à l’aventure sur les chemins nébuleux des prairies galactiques, sans nul dessein, tels des nomades de l’espace…

ARCHITECTE RENOMMÉ ET HORLOGER DU COSMOS

Sur le mode de la bienfacture helvétique, en série limitée, la montre d’architecte Astar by Rino Brodbeck apporte une réponse autant aux amateurs d’horlogerie d’excellence qu’aux passionnés d’esthétique architecturale.

 

Présentée en 2014, ce modèle est le fruit d’un long processus de réflexion.

HISTOIRE D’UNE DÉMARCHE CRÉATRICE

Au début des années cinquante, le jeune Rino Brodbeck travaille au sein d’un cabinet d’architecture à Bâle un ami lui demande de créer une montre.

 

L’architecte s’interroge sur le temps qui passe en imaginant une montre régie par l’univers cosmique tout en respectant ce qui fait sens dans l’architecture.

 

Rino Brodbeck, horloger du cosmos a puisé son inspiration dans sa philosophie du travail, rigueur et création d’espaces où l’âme se sent bien. Cette vision épurée de son oeuvre architecturale se retrouve dans sa passion horlogère.

 

L’architecture justement qui consiste à transformer un programme, des fonctions et d'innombrables contraintes en une matérialité tri-dimensionnelle cohérente et utile, où les espaces, la matière et la lumière créent pour l'homme les meilleures conditions d'épanouissement dans l'esprit du temps.

CRÉATEUR, DESIGNER

Outre l’horlogerie, ce passionné de lignes épurées et des astres crée des tableaux. Loin du figuratif, tout dans ses œuvres respirent la structuration de la matière, des lignes, des formes et des couleurs. Il crée aussi des meubles.

VALEURS IDENTITAIRES

Profondeur et cohérence sont les maîtres mots de l’esthétique selon Rino Brodbeck, traquant l’épure et l’essentiel.

 

A ce titre, la montre Astar by Rino Brodbeck portant le numéro 11 trône au sein du corpus d’œuvres du Musée d’Horlogerie de Genève.

© 2014, Astar – Tél. +41 22 533 08 55 / e-mail: contact@astarwatch.ch